Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Winners Galore at Ragley Hall Motor Show

It was a weekend of winners at the Ragley Hall Motor Show, held over the Whitsun Bank Holiday, with more entrants in the Award Classes and Masterclass than ever before along with the daily Best in Show and Pride of Ownership accolades.

Gemini Events Director Stephen Smith said: “With 5,000 attendees over the two-days and around 1,000 classics on show, the judges had their work cut out for them when it came to handing out the prizes.”

The organisers hold a competition, presenting prizes for the best car in a number of Classes. If a car wins a Class it then moves up into the Masterclass for three years, which is judged on the Monday only.

With thirteen Classes on Sunday, winners included Keith Wright’s 1959 Austin Healey Sprite for the 1950s Cars, Paul Essex’s 1967 Sunbeam Alpine for the 60s Open Top category, Mark Withey’s 1976 Ford Escort for the ‘70s Closed Class, and Jim Houlgrave’s 1988 TVR 350i in the 1980s-1998 Open section.

The American Class was won by Hugh Busby and his 1975 Chrysler Imperial Le Baron, while the Kit, Custom and Replica award was presented to Terry Oxley in the 1998 Dax Tojeiro. Commercial vehicle went to Trevor Turnbull’s 1958 Austin 301 while Phil Holloway scooped the win for the Military 4x4 section with his 1945 Willys Jeep.

Monday saw 14 Classes with winners including John Lewnes’ 1949 Triumph Roadster for the Pre-1950s, Michale Taylor’s 1962 Vauxhall Victor for 1960s Closed Top, and Ryan Shore’s 1970 VW Beetle in 70s Open Class. Mike Cowley’s 1972 VW Type 2 won the Campervan Class while Jon Davey’s 1975 Volvo C304 won the 4x4 Class.

In the Bank Holiday Monday Masterclass, the top honours were won by Tony Blythe and his 1963 VW Beetle Cabriolet, although only half a mark separated him and Dave Hames who took second place with his 1973 Triumph Dolomite custom car. Jan de Haldevang’s 1954 MG TF came third.

The Pride of Ownership award went to Tony Yates in the 1989 Mini Thirty on Sunday, while on Monday, it was the turn of Sean Edmunds’ 1988 Wartburg 353. Best in Show was presented to Steve Taylor and his 1958 Austin Metropolitan convertible who had travelled from Eastleigh, Hampshire to join the Club display on Sunday and Michael Taylor and his 1962 Vauxhall Victor who had travelled all the way from Blackpool to take part the following day.

The Clubs weren’t left out either as the Metropolitan Owners Club was awarded Best Club Stand for its stunning display on Sunday with the Royal Enfield Owners Club taking the prize on Bank Holiday Monday.

Alan Hipkins’ 1936 Austin Mayfair Limousine won Best Classic for the Austin Ten Drivers Club on Sunday while Tony Hudson’s 1981 Bedford HA110 won the honours for the Cotswold Classic Car Club on Monday, with fellow member Allan Merriman winning Best Saloon for his 1988 Volvo 240GL. Harry Johnson and his 1968 Ford Cortina 1600E won the Best Saloon award for the Black Country Classic Car Club on Sunday.

Ragley Hall Motor Show, sponsored by ClassicLine, welcomed 30 motoring clubs with an eclectic line-up of vehicles from the Alfa Romeo Owners Club to Yesterday’s Caravans.

Enthusiasts enjoyed car parades and the popular ‘Decibel Duel’ in the Live Arena along with music from vintage vocalist Carrie-Anne Lawson, The Quik Beats and The Delray Rockets. There was also a performance from SJP Theatre Arts on Sunday.

Bank Holiday Monday saw celebrations of the marques reaching significant milestones, with 60 years of the Mini and the Marcos plus 50 years of the Ford Capri.

Take a look at our gallery from the weekend here

Sign Up for our newsletter for our show updates

Classic Motor Events Limited

Bangalore House, Wycombe Road, Stokenchurch HP14 3RG

 © 2020

Follow us

  • Twitter App Icon
  • Facebook App Icon